The rules of swimming are not set in stone. Over the years, major changes have been made to legitimize new techniques and make the sport faster.
One of the most significant changes in modern swimming happened in 2005, when FINA officially updated the breaststroke pullout rule. This post covers that original change, the controversy that sparked it all, and the subsequent update that defines the rule we use today.
Some of you already might have heard that FINA has updated their breaststroke rule to accommodate an underwater dolphin kick during the pullout phase after the initial start or a turn.
The rule marked as SW 7.4 clearly states "A single downward dolphin kick followed by a breaststroke kick is permitted while wholly submerged. Following which, all movements of the legs shall be simultaneous and in the same horizontal plane without alternating movement."
Not sure what to make of this, but I believe it was received with positive feedback on many fronts.
There is one country, however, that does not like this rule. As Swim News indicated in their recently published article, the Chinese swimming committee decided not to follow this rule during China's 10th National Games.
I personally think this rule will reduce the number of disqualifications and will allow for faster swimming of skilled butterfly kickers.
It potentially might even help those IMers that struggle on breaststroke.
Finally, I predict we will see some breaststroke world records going down with the adoption of this rule.

The official rule change wasn't just a random decision; it was a direct response to years of controversy and evolving technique.
The Controversy That Sparked the Change
The initial 2005 rule change was largely driven by events at the 2004 Athens Olympics. Japanese swimmer Kosuke Kitajima won the 100m breaststroke gold, but underwater footage later showed him performing a clear dolphin kick during his pullout. Since the kick was invisible from the surface, officials couldn't disqualify him, and the benefit of the doubt went to the swimmer. This incident highlighted the need for a rule that could be officiated consistently, leading FINA to legalize the single dolphin kick.
The Ongoing Judging Challenge
Even after the rule was adopted, it remained one of the most difficult to officiate. The rule allows for only one kick, but many swimmers were seen doing multiple, subtle undulations. The controversy peaked at the 2012 London Olympics when South African Cameron van der Burgh won gold and later admitted to doing "three or four" dolphin kicks, arguing that "everybody's doing it" and if you're not, you're falling behind.
A Strategic Loophole: Skipping the Pullout
An interesting tactical point is that the long underwater pullout is not mandatory. For swimmers who are not breaststroke specialists, particularly in a long event like the 400 IM, some coaches advise skipping the pullout altogether. Instead, the swimmer performs a single, powerful dolphin kick while in a tight streamline and then surfaces immediately to begin their stroke, saving valuable energy and oxygen.
Update:
Since this article was first published, FINA has further clarified its dolphin kick rule.
It now states: Rule 101.2.3 states: After the start and each turn, a single butterfly kick, which must be followed by a breaststroke kick, is permitted during or at the completion of the first arm pull.
For the purposes of Article 101.2.3, as it relates to what constitutes the initiation of the first arm pull and the allowed single downward butterfly kick, the following applies: After the start and after each turn, any lateral or downward movement of the hands or arms is considered to be the initiation of the first arm pull.
So in other words, there are now two places one can execute the dolphin kick:
1) during the initial underwater arm pull (this is the older way and could cause the swimmer to loose a nice streamlined position as the swimmer is moving up through the water column)
2) at the beginning of the pull (this is thought to be the more efficient way as the swimmer is in a more streamlined position to utilize the pull)
How do you do your breaststroke pull? Leave a comment below.
The current rule allows for one single dolphin kick after the start and each turn. This kick can be performed either during the first underwater arm pull or at the very beginning of the pull, before the hands start to move.
You have two options: 1) during the initial long underwater pull (the traditional method), or 2) at the very beginning of the pull while still in a tight streamline (considered more efficient by many).
The rule was controversial because swimmers were using illegal dolphin kicks that were invisible to judges from the surface. This led to high-profile incidents at the Olympics, forcing FINA to change the rule to ensure it could be officiated fairly.
In 2005, FINA first officially allowed a single downward dolphin kick to be added to the breaststroke pullout. This was a significant change that led to faster times and fewer disqualifications.
According to FINA, any lateral (sideways) or downward movement of the hands or arms after the start or turn is considered the initiation of the first arm pull.
The rule was changed to legitimize a technique many swimmers were already using illegally. It reduced disqualifications, allowed for faster times, and made the judging of the stroke more consistent.
Comments (10)
Because I was competing in USA and public highschool meets at the same time, I was confused as to when I am allowed to use the dolphin kick. Has it been approved for HS swimming?
Cuz I always thought we could do fly kicks after kicking off the wall.. I know I've always done it.. and I was an IMer..
Hmm.
I don't have much research data in regards to the dolphin kick being faster or slower, however, from experience I can tell you that if you perform one fly kick, it will propel you forward a bit as opposed to not doing the kick. I'd guess you can get extra 0.5-1 meter of each turn if done properly. If you combine it with a shoulder shrug as described in this post, you'll be amazed how much further you will go underwater. Now, going further underwater equals to not spending extra energy swimming, so theoretically you should be faster. (given the assumption holding your breath is not a problem for you) :)